creative finds | this week’s top seven

P1100900

1 | I lost my mind strolling through Opus Design Co in Paddington and I am not certain I have it back yet. The front window of this store was breathtaking on its own. This ottoman, in all its coloured glory, is the things dreams are made of (if only I didn’t have cats who would take joy in removing every single ball). I love the colour clash that’s going on with this piece – it just works.

P1110176

2 | Now, you know I love cushions and you know I love to keep home decor playful. This little guy marries the two concepts perfectly. This Monsieur Moustache cushion stood out during my store tour of Freedom this weekend – and he has a little girlfriend, Mademoiselle, for those of you who want to add some femininity to your space. Cute huh?

P1100730

3 | Sometimes simplicity really is the way to go when you’re decorating. I grabbed these terracotta pots from Flower Power the other week and I finally got around to filling them with some low budget and low maintenance plants (blog post coming soon). I’ve made a conscious choice to leave these pots natural as opposed to painting them so the plants I’ve potted can be the stars.

P1110130 P1100989

4 | I love a good window display and Adairs in Westfield Bondi Junction did a fabulous job with this family of owls. I love bird ornaments (as you know), so these three caused a little flutter as I walked by. I love the white and the detailing.

5 | My store tour of Country Road on Saturday was amazing. I love how they use colour in their range in such a subtle and sophisticated way. These striped mugs feature the perfect shade of yellow and are a gorgeous little splash of colour for Autumn.

P1100570

6 | It’s amazing how a cute item can be elevated into a spectacular one when a store displays it well. It’s like the concept that the wrapping is just as important as the present. This paper flower from Paper2 in Surry Hills is very adorable on its own, but against the metal dish it’s become so much more.

P1100656

7 | I was flicking through the photos that didn’t make it into my blog post on the awesome courtyard makeover at The Clock Hotel (I spend way too much time flicking through photos). These black stools were too awesome not to show you. I am in lust with anything that features rust or looks even mildly industrial, so these stools are a bit of a dream come true. You like?

Screen Shot 2013-04-07 at 2.44.59 PM

5 thoughts on “creative finds | this week’s top seven

Leave a comment